The Dementia Friendly Awards – open for entries!

March 2015 marked the end of the original Prime Ministers Challenge on Dementia and it’s succession by the Prime Minister’s Challenge 2020. Since March 2012, we have made huge progress in the creation of dementia-friendly communities.

There are now over 150 Local Dementia Action Alliances, over 100 communities signed up to the recognition process and over 1 million Dementia Friends, and with your help we are delivering change across a large number of sectors.

As part of the challenge, individuals, groups and organisations across the UK have been actively working to create dementia-friendly communities which provide an inclusive and supportive environment for people living with dementia, their families and carers.

From local shops to large cities, faith communities to schools; we have heard inspirational stories of people and organisations making positive change for people with dementia.

To celebrate the incredible achievements communities across the UK have made in creating and developing dementia-friendly communities, Alzheimer’s Society are holding the second Dementia Friendly Awards.

The Awards will recognise communities, organisations and individuals who have strived to make their area more dementia-friendly and this year’s categories are detailed below:
There are seven categories to enter in 2015. They are as follows:

• Best dementia friendly community initiative
• Best dementia friendly organisational initiative
• Best dementia friendly involvement initiative
• Best dementia friendly project
• Best dementia friendly partnership working
• Best dementia friendly educational initiative
• Outstanding Contribution to dementia friendly communities

There will also be recognition awards presented to our ambassadors and other people living with dementia and their carers who have contributed to the dementia-friendly communities programme over the past 12 months.

Full criteria and all further information is available on Alzheimer’s Society website, and you can enter online by visiting

If you have any questions about the awards please email

Applications close at 5pm on Monday 29th June 2015.